<Restoration and Conversion of the Kongresshaus and Tonhalle, Zürich, 2017–2021

X

Haefeli Moser Steiger built a congress house for the 1939 Swiss National Exhibition on the site of the New Tonhalle in two years and three months. They subtly integrated Helmer Fellner's two Tonhalle halls into the new Tonhalle and Kongresshaus ensemble. Their project included a lakeside terrace enclosed to the south and west by a tall glazed spatial layer of foyers and halls. At the entrance below, they placed a new vestibule. Today the monument is not only their new congress hall, but also the ornamentally and landscape-architecturally enormously rich spatial continuum, with which they linked the large public halls with a series of smaller conference and music halls. The Panorama Hall from the 1980s did not correspond to this standing. It had been placed on the lake terrace and above the ground-floor Garden Hall of 1939, costing the charming garden courtyard and cutting off the foyers from daylight as well as the view to the lake for 30 years.

The project for the renovation and refurbishment, which had won the support of the public votes in 2016, was implemented in 2021, performing a " Rochade " in which the volume of the Panorama Hall was removed from the terrace. It was compensated for, by a respectful extension of the congress area. The view relationships to the lake were regained. The extensive operation implies the construction of two new garden halls on the first floor and the restaurant pavilion on the east side of the terrace, the improvement of the rehearsal rooms and coatrooms, the installation of fire protection and modern ventilation, lighting and stage technology, and the structural reinforcement. Renovation and reconstruction were carried out in close dialogue with the authorities responsible for the preservation of historical monuments, with the acousticians, restorers, specialist planners, landscape architects and artists. Steiner & Lenzlinger created a new Flower Window and interventions in the new Garden Hall, Albert Kriemler, Akris, designed fabrics for the seating, textile walls and curtains. In addition, Josef Felix Müller designed a glass-and concrete relief for the new façade on the lake side. 

Date: 2017-2021
Client: Kongresshaus-Stiftung, Zürich
User: Kongresshaus Zürich, Tonhalle-Gesellschaft, Zürich
Location: Claridenstrasse 5, 8002, Zürich
Floor area GF (SIA 416): 34'935 m2
Program: Congress hall, large and small concert halls each with vestibules and foyers, garden halls, lecture halls and club hall with foyers, lakeside room, restaurant with terrace, administration, library, recording rooms, checkrooms, storage areas, ancillary rooms
Architecture: Diener & Diener Architekten mit Elisabeth & Martin Boesch Architekten, Zürich
Restoration: Baudirektion Kanton Zürich
Interior design: GREGO, Zürich
Project management: OAP Offermann Architekten, Zürich
Civil engineer: Conzett Bronzini Partner, Chur
Landscape architecture: Vogt Landschaftsarchitekten, Zürich
Electrical engineers: HKG Engineering, Schlieren
HLKS-engineers: Gruenberg + Partner, Zürich
Structural engineers: BWS Bauphysik, Winterthur
Lighting design: D-Lite Zürich, H PLUS S Ittigen, Bartenbach, Aldrans
Acoustics: Kahle Acoustics, Ixelles, Müller BBM Münich
Artists: Joseph Felix Müller, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Albert Kriemler, Akris

29 21-07-27 944 Aerni prov
02 21-07-26 603 Aerni
2 GRU 3OG TONHALLE FARBIGxxx
03 21-07-26 744 Aerni
85 21-06-26 094 Aerni prov
3 SCHN A TONHALLE FARBIGxxx
10 QUERSCHNITT FARBExxxxxxx
05 21-07-27 913 Aerni
63 21-07-26 607 Aerni prov
11 21-07-22 061 Aerni
5 GRU EG TONHALLE FARBIGxxx
33 21-07-27 990 Aerni prov
07 21-07-27 985 Aernin
8
08 21-07-22 404 Aerni
01 21-10-13 1107 Aerni
10 21-07-27 1017 Aerni prov
10 21-07-22 061 Aerni
09 111 21-07-26 079 Kunst und Bau, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger. Foto, Georg Aerni
21-07-22 018 Aerni
1 SIT TONHALLEn
5 GRU EG TONHALLE3
5 GRU 3OG TONHALLEnn
7 SCHN A TONHALLEnn
9 QUERSCHNITT 1997

<Instandsetzung Kongresshaus und Tonhalle, Zürich, 2017–2021

X

Haefeli Moser Steiger bauten auf der Parzelle der Neuen Tonhalle in zwei Jahren und drei Monaten ein Kongresshaus für die Schweizer Landesausstellung 1939. Die beiden Tonhallesäle von Helmer Fellner banden sie raffiniert in das neue Ensemble Tonhalle und Kongresshaus ein. Ihr Projekt umfasste eine Seeterrasse, die nach Süden und Westen von einer verglasten hohen Raumschicht aus Foyers und Sälen gefasst ist. Eingangs darunter setzten sie ein neues Vestibül. Nicht nur ihr neuer Kongresssaal, auch das ornamental und landschaftsarchitektonisch enorm reichhaltige Raumkontinuum, mit dem sie die grossen Publikumssäle mit einer Reihe kleinerer Veranstaltungs-und Musiksäle verknüpften, ist heute Denkmal. Diesem Status entsprach der Panoramasaal aus den 1980-er Jahren nicht. Er war auf die Seeterrasse und über den erdgeschossigen Gartensaal von 1939 gesetzt worden und hatte den reizvollen Gartenhof gekostet und 30 Jahre lang die Foyers vom Tageslicht und vom Ausblick auf den See abgeschnitten.

Das Projekt für den Umbau und die Sanierung, die 2016 das Ja des Stimmvolks gefunden hatte und 2021 umgesetzt wurde, vollzog eine „Rochade“, bei der das von der Terrasse abgetragene Volumen des Panoramasaals durch eine respektvolle Erweiterung des Kongressbereichs kompensiert wird und die Blickbeziehungen zum See wieder freigespielt werden. Zur umfangreichen Operation zählen der Bau zweier neuer Gartensäle im Erdgeschoss und eines Restaurantpavillons im Osten der Terrasse, die Verbesserung der Einspielräume und Garderoben, die Installation von Brandschutz und moderner Lüftungs-, Licht--und Bühnentechnik und die statische Ertüchtigung. Renovation wie Umbau wurden in engem Dialog mit der Denkmalpflegebehörde, mit den Akustikern, Restauratoren, Fachplanern, Landschaftsarchitekten und Künstlern ausgeführt. Steiner & Lenzlinger schufen ein neues Blumenfenster und Interventionen im neuen Gartensaal, Albert Kriemler, Akris konzipierte Stoffe für die Bestuhlung, textilen Wände und Vorhänge, Josef Felix Müller entwarf ein Wandrelief für die neue seeseitige Fassade.

Datum: 2017-2021
Bauherr: Kongresshaus-Stiftung, Zürich
Nutzer: Kongresshaus Zürich, Tonhalle-Gesellschaft, Zürich
Ort: Claridenstrasse 5, 8002, Zürich
Geschossfläche GF (SIA 416): 34'935 m2
Programm: Kongresssaal, Grosse Tonhalle und Kleine Tonalle je mit Vestibülen und Foyers, Gartensäle, Vortragssäle und Vereinssaal mit Foyers, Seezimmer, Restaurant mit Terrassee, Verwaltung, Binliothek, Einspielräume, Garderoben, Lagerflächen, Nebenräume
Architektur: Diener & Diener Architekten with Elisabeth & Martin Boesch Architekten, Zürich
Denkmalpflege: Baudirektion Kanton Zürich
Innenarchitektur: GREGO, Zürich
Gesamtleitung: OAP Offermann Architekten, Zürich
Bauingenieure: Conzett Bronzini Partner, Chur
Landschaftsarchitektur: Vogt Landschaftsarchitekten, Zürich
Elektroingenieure: HKG Engineering, Schlieren
HLKS-Ingenieure: Gruenberg + Partner, Zürich
Bauphysik: BWS Bauphysik, Winterthur
Lichtplaner: D-Lite Zürich, H PLUS S Ittigen, Bartenbach, Aldrans
Raumakustiker: Kahle Acoustics, Ixelles, Müller BBM Münich
Kunst und Bau: Joseph Felix Müller, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Albert Kriemler, Akris

29 21-07-27 944 Aerni prov
02 21-07-26 603 Aerni
2 GRU 3OG TONHALLE FARBIGxxx
03 21-07-26 744 Aerni
85 21-06-26 094 Aerni prov
3 SCHN A TONHALLE FARBIGxxx
10 QUERSCHNITT FARBExxxxxxx
05 21-07-27 913 Aerni
63 21-07-26 607 Aerni prov
11 21-07-22 061 Aerni
5 GRU EG TONHALLE FARBIGxxx
33 21-07-27 990 Aerni prov
07 21-07-27 985 Aernin
8
08 21-07-22 404 Aerni
01 21-10-13 1107 Aerni
10 21-07-27 1017 Aerni prov
10 21-07-22 061 Aerni
09 111 21-07-26 079 Kunst und Bau, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger. Foto, Georg Aerni
21-07-22 018 Aerni
1 SIT TONHALLEn
5 GRU EG TONHALLE3
5 GRU 3OG TONHALLEnn
7 SCHN A TONHALLEnn
9 QUERSCHNITT 1997